NCAA Mideast Regional Roundup Day 1

Action resumes tomorrow at 11 a.m.

Action resumes tomorrow at 11 a.m.

May 29, 2009

The No. 6-ranked Arkansas men and the No. 16-ranked Arkansas women have taken the lead after the first day of the NCAA Division I Mideast Regional Track Meet Friday at Cardinal Park in Louisville, Ky.

For the men, after Arkansas (28) came Louisville (17), Ole Miss (17), Auburn (16), Indiana (13), Kentucky (10), Wisconsin (10), Alabama (10), Northwestern State (8) and Michigan (8) round out the top ten. For the women, after the Razorbacks (20) came Southern Illinois (17), Kentucky (14), Indiana (14), Illinois (13), Mississippi State (13), Akron (13), Notre Dame (12), Tennessee (11) and Michigan (11) for the top ten finishers.

In the men's javelin, Wisconsin's Robert Dehn won with a throw of 231-10 (70.66m) which came on his second attempt. The top five were all new Cardinal Park marks as Cody Fillinch of Northwestern State (231-10, 70.42m); Colin Molteton of Ole Miss (226-0, 68.90m); Richard McKay of Louisiana-Monroe (223-10, 68.23) and Kyle Smith of Southern Miss (223-0, 67.98) will all advance.

In the men's high jump, freshman Derek Drouin of Indiana, tied a new meet record with a jump of 7-03.25 (2.22m) on his first attempt at that height. Louisville's Tone Belt also jumped 2.22m but lost in the tiebreaker as he made it on his second attempt. Ryan Fleck of Auburn was third (7-2.25, 2.19m), Greg Shroka of Illinois was fourth (7-01.00, 2.15m) and Major Clay of Indiana State was fifth at (7-01.00, 2.15m). Drouin's mark equals last year's champion Kentucky's Grant Lindsey's winning jump.

In the women's pole vault, Indiana's Vera Neuenswander set a meet record with a vault of 14-01.75 (4.31m). Indiana State's Kylie Hutson was second at 13:09.75 (4.21). A pair of Razorbacks went third and fourth led by Katie Striplings' 13-09.75 (4.21m) and Janice Keppler's 13-05.75 (4.11m). Mary Saxer of Notre Dame rounded out the top five to advance with 13-05.75 (4.11m) after the tiebreaker.



No. 6 seeded Rashaud Scott of Kentucky, took the men's shot put with a heave of 62-01.25 (18.93m). Ole Miss' Derek McGuire was second with a throw of 59.10.25 (18.24m). Nick Panezich of Tennessee will advance with a third place throw of 59-09.75 (18.23m). Eastern Michigan's Gerald Gersham (59-09.75, 18.23m) was fourth and Auburn's Eric Wersky (59-08.50, 18.20m) was fifth . Louisville's Steve Hnat was sixth with a throw of 59-06.75 (18.15m).

In the women's hammer throw, Akron's Stevi Large set a Cardinal Park record with a throw of 219.01 (66.77) easily outdistancing the rest of the field. Kentucky's Kristin Smith was second at 209-02 (63.75m) and Krishna Lee of Missouri was third at 206-09 (63.03m). Also advancing will be Southern Illinois' Sasha Leech (201.05, 61.40m) and Notre Dame's Anna Weber (200-09, 61.20m).

Alabama's Tyson David set a Cardinal Park record with a 5000m run of 14:07.22. Lex Williams of Michigan was second in 14:08.56, also faster than the CP mark. Auburn's Jean-Pierre Weerts was third in 14:09.02 with Southern Illinois' Jeff Schirmer posting a time of 14:09.19 and James Strang of Arkansas rounded out the top five with a time of 14:09.33. In the women's 5000m, Illinois' Angela Bizzarri set a meet record with a time of 16:11.00. Wisconsin's Gwen Jorgensen was hot on her heels, with a time of 16:11.54. Lisa Senakiewich of Michigan State was third with a time of 16:12.88 followed by Arkansas' Denise Bargiachi (16:25.38) with Indiana's Wendi Robinson rounding out the top five with a time of 16:30.75.

In the last final of the day, Southern Illinois' Bianca Stuart took the women's long jump with a leap of 21-05.50. Mississippi State's Wendy Copeland was second at 21-00.75 with Bettie Wade of Michigan qualifying third with a 20-08.05. The final two spots were taken by Mississippi State's Priscilla Gaines (20-05.05) and Middle Tennessee State's Sarah Nambawa (20-04.50). For the men, Arkansas took the top three spots led by Alain Bailey, who went a meet record 26.05.50, followed by Mychael Stewart 26-00.00 and Tarik Batchelor (25-08.00). Tone Belt of Louisville was fourth with a leap of 25.04.00. Middle Tennessee's Stanley Gbagbeke took the final spot going 24-03.50.

In preliminaries, LSU posted the fastest time in the women's 4X100 relay when Monique Cabral, Cassandra Tate, Samantha Henry and Kenyanna Wilson combined to post the winning time of 43.92, a Cardinal Park record. In the men's 4x100, LSU boarded the best time of 39.32 as Armanti Hayes, Will Coppage, Gabriel Mvumvure and Trindon Holliday partnered to lead the Tigers.

In the women's 1500m, Tennessee's Sarah Bowman easily strided to the top qualifying time of 4:13.59. Louisville's Tarah McKay had the second fastest time at 4:23.87 but was in Bowman's heat, and so will be seeded third. Her next competitor was 13 seconds behind her when the winner of heat 2 (East Tennessee's Heidi Dahl) posted a time of 4:26.46. In the men's 1500m, Arkansas' Dorian Utley qualified first with a time of 3:45.38.

In the women's 100m hurdles, Michigan's Tiffany Ofili posted the best time of 12.91. For the men, LSU freshman, Barrett Nugent was first with a time of 13.81.

In the men's 100m, Auburn's Marcus Rowland was the top qualifier at 10.16. For the women, it was LSU's Samantha Henry, who posted a 11.37, one one-hundreth of a second faster than teammate Kenyanna Wilson.

In the women's 400m, Ole Miss' Lajada Baldwin was fastest at 52.92. Auburn's Janna Atkins was second at 53.09. For the men, LSU took the top two spots, led by Robert Simmons who went 46.05, just ahead of teammate Armanti Hayes 46.10. Mississippi State took the next two spots, led by John Bailey (46.25) and Dwight Mullins at 46.55. Northwestern State's Michael Green snagged fifth with a time of 46.14.

In the men's 800m, LSU's Richard Jones was first at 1:47.70. Wisconsin's Zach Beth was second at 1:48.63 with Arkansas' Alex McClary posting a 1:49.36. LSU's Jamaal James was fourth at 1:50.05 and Arkansas' Chris Bilbrew with at 1:49 rounds out the top five. For the women, Michigan's Genna Gall was the top qualifier, going 2:03.08. Tennessee's Phoebe Wright was second at 2:04.16 and Molly Beckwith posted a time of 2:04.55.

In the men's 400m hurdles, Carl Buchanon of Michigan ran a 50.90 for the fastest qualifying time. Ole Miss' Lee Moore was in hot pursuit posting a time of 50.95. For the women, Western Michigan's Danielle Brown was the fastest qualifier at 58.04 with Indiana State's Erica Moore posting the second fastest time of 58.41.

In the women's 200m, Auburn's Cache Armbrister was the fastest qualifier with a time of 23.57. Belmont's Lynette Rives was just out-touched coming in at 23.60. Tennesee's Lynne Layne was third. For the men, WKU's Gavin Smellie (20.43) was the top qualifier, with Michigan's Adam Harris finishing second at 20.77. Auburn took the next two spots with Michael Dehaven and Marcus Rowland tying for third at 20.78.

For complete results and standings visit

    American Athletic Conference NCAA University of Louisville
    Rotating Dimage