Louisville Rowers Earn CRCA Awards


June 4, 2014

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Prior to the Louisville rowing program's first appearance at the NCAA Championships last month, a total of 12 Cardinals earned recognition from the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association for their work on the water and in the classroom.

Leading the way on the water was senior Morgan Dunham, who was named as a First Team All-Central Region selection. A Second Team All-Region selection last season, Dunham rowed in the Cardinals' varsity eight boat, which finished fourth in the C final at last weekend's NCAA Championship in Indianapolis, Ind.

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season. These athletes will be eligible for All-America awards selection.

In addition to Dunham, 11 other Louisville rowers were honored by the CRCA as scholar athletes. The list of CRCA scholar athletes included sophomore Cynthia Doyle, junior Jami Montesano, sophomore Katie Nord, junior Kylen Pattermann, senior Hannah Ritter, sophomore Hanna Spittel, sophomore Elise Valantine, senior Amy Van Syoc, sophomore Kelsey Webb, sophomore Lucy Wilshier and senior Andrea Zorn. Both Ritter and Van Syoc are three-time scholar athletes, while Zorn is a two-time scholar athlete selection.

To be eligible for CRCA scholar athlete consideration, rowers had to be in at least their second year of eligibility, had to row in an NCAA eligible boat for a minimum of 75 percent of the spring races and had to have a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher for her career.

The Cardinals concluded their record-setting 2014 season with a 17th-place finish at the NCAA Championship on May 30-June 1.

CRCA Scholar Athletes - Major
Cynthia Doyle - Psychology
Jami Montesano - Exercise Science
Katie Nord - Biomedical Engineering
Kylen Pattermann - Political Science
Hannah Ritter - Computer Information Systems
Hanna Spittel - Finance
Elise Valantine - Marketing
Amy Van Syoc - Communications
Kelsey Webb - Communications
Lucy Wilshier - Computer Information Systems
Andrea Zorn - Anthropology



Official Online Store