Boltja, Morissette Named Tewaaraton Trophy Nominees - | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Boltja, Morissette Named Tewaaraton Trophy Nominees

Senior Nikki Boltja ranks second in the country in goals and goals per game.

Senior Nikki Boltja ranks second in the country in goals and goals per game.

April 25, 2014

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - University of Louisville's Nikki Boltja and Kaylin Morissette, statistically two of the best women's lacrosse players in the country, were named 2014 Tewaaraton Award nominees late Friday evening.

Louisville is one of just eight schools with a pair of nominees on the list, only trailing Maryland's four selections.

Behind the solid play of the duo, No. 18 Louisville collected its first BIG EAST regular-season title outright on Thursday in addition to securing the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament next weekend. Louisville finished the regular season with a school-best 13-3 mark, including the only undefeated record in the league at 7-0.

Boltja has dominated opposing defenses, leading Louisville in goals (61), assists (20), and points (81). The senior ranks first in the BIG EAST in goals, goals per game, points, and points per game, while ranking No. 2 nationally in goals and goals per game, fourth in points, and fifth in points per game for games through April 20.

A sophomore, Morissette has been one of the most effective in the country on the draw. She currently has a single season school record 142 draw controls on the year, good enough for second best in the country. The Bowmanville, Ontario, native has totaled 44 points behind 33 goals and 11 assists in addition to 25 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers.

The Cardinals return to action on May 1 in the BIG EAST Tournament semifinals in Washington, D.C. The championship game on May 3 will be televised on Fox Sports 2.

For the latest information on Louisville women's lacrosse, log on to, or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow the team's Twitter account at or on Facebook at



Bridget Bianco Northwestern GK
Nikki Boltja Louisville A
Frankie Caridi Stony Brook GK
Jackie Cifarelli Ohio State A
Taylor Cummings Maryland M
Taylor D'Amore Johns Hopkins A
Megan Douty Maryland D
Lucy Ferguson Penn GK
Abbey Friend North Carolina A
Shannon Gilroy Florida A
Brooke Griffin Maryland A
Hannah Hook Denver GK
Alyssa Leonard Northwestern A
Meg Markham Penn D
Kerrin Maurer Duke A
Kelly McPartland Maryland M
Kaylin Morissette Louisville M
Alyssa Murray Syracuse A
Marlee Paton Loyola A/M
Mikaela Rix Boston College M
Sloane Serpe North Carolina D
Jaclyn Sileo LIU Post A
Margaret Smith Notre Dame M/D
Covie Stanwick Boston College A
Courtney Swan Virginia A
Kayla Treanor Syracuse A
Taylor Virden Duke D
Official Online Store