Andrew Farrell Named a Hermann Trophy Semifinalist - | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Andrew Farrell Named a Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Andrew Farrell

Andrew Farrell

Nov. 28, 2012


LOUISVILLE, Ky. - University of Louisville junior Andrew Farrell was on of 15 men's players announced as the Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy semifinalists on Wednesday afternoon.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. It is presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Farrell was named BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year this season. Farrell anchored the Cardinals' defense, which is tied for the top spot in the conference allowing 0.62 goals per game in league play. Louisville posted a 7-1 BIG EAST record, winning the Red Division. Farrell was also a unanimous selection to the All-BIG EAST first team. He is tied for third on the team with four goals and nine points.

NCAA Division I coaches who are NSCAA members may vote for their top choices starting today (Wednesday, Nov. 28) to Wednesday, Dec. 5. New this year is a fan voting component, conducted through LockerDome, which allows fans to also contribute to picking this year's MAC Hermann Trophy winners.

The top three vote-getters for each gender will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.



Official Online Store