Brohm Named to O'Brien Watch List - | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Brohm Named to O'Brien Watch List

Brian Brohm

Brian Brohm

Aug. 30, 2006

Louisville, Ky. - For the second time in his University of Louisville career, junior quarterback Brian Brohmhas been selected to the prestigious Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, as it was announced on Monday.

A 2006 Heisman Trophy candidate, Brohm is one of three quarterbacks from the BIG EAST Conference on the list, joining West Virginia's Pat White and Tyler Palko from Pittsburgh. Brohm was honored earlier this summer when he was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List.

Brohm is coming off one of the best seasons for a U of L signal caller, throwing for 2,883 yards and 19 touchdowns last year before suffering an injury that cut his season two games short.

The BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year and first team All-League performer, Brohm completed 68.4 percent of his throws and finished second in the nation in passing efficiency. He's currently the NCAA record-holder in that catgeory with a 163.53rating.

Celebrating 30 years, the O'Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. O'Brien led the TCU Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell awards in one season.

Semifinalists will be announced in early November as voted on by the O'Brien Selection Committee, made up of a nationwide panel of sportswriters, commentators and former O'Brien Award winners. The committee will then narrow the field to three finalists before announcing a winner on ESPN's Home Depot College Football Awards Show scheduled for Dec. 7, 2006, at 7 p.m. EST. The winner will then be honored on Feb. 19, 2007, at the 30th annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth, Texas.

Last year's winner was Vince Young from The University of Texas who led the Longhorns to their first Big 12 Championship since 1996 and their fourth National Championship. With the national title down to a final play, Young scrambled untouched for an 8-yard touchdown stunning No. 1 Southern California with a 41-38 Rose Bowl victory. He was the third overall pick by the Tennessee Titans in the 2006 NFL draft.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation was established in 1977 to present the O'Brien Memorial Trophy, recognizing an outstanding college football player in the five southwestern states of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981, the award was redirected to be national in scope but limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the award's namesake, Davey O'Brien. The award carries with it a $10,000 grant to the scholarship program of the university in which the winner is enrolled. A high school scholarship program began in 1986, awarding a $20,000 college scholarship to an outstanding senior student-athlete in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex each year. Since 1977, the Davey O'Brien Foundation has awarded more than $250,000 to the various O'Brien winners' universities and more than $400,000 to deserving high school students.



Official Online Store