Bush and Brohm Named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Michael Bush and Brian Brohm

Michael Bush and Brian Brohm

Aug. 19, 2006

New Haven, Conn. - - Senior running back Michael Bush and junior quarterback Brian Brohm of the University of Louisville football team have been named as two of the players to watch for The Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year, the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

Bush, a first team All-BIG EAST performer, led the country in touchdowns with 24 and rushed for 1,143 yards in just 10 games. Brohm, who played just 10 games because of injury, threw for 2,883 yards and 19 touchdowns. He was named the BIG EAST's Offensive Player of Year and was also a first team All-BIG EAST selection. He finished as the nation's second-rated passer.

The watch list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists in early November. The 2006 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on January 13, 2007 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Last year's recipient was USC running back Reggie Bush.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (www.waltercamp.org) - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.



    Atlantic Coast Conference NCAA University of Louisville
    Rotating Dimage