Carmody Named to Lou Groza Watch List - | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Carmody Named to Lou Groza Watch List

Art Carmody

Art Carmody

Aug. 15, 2006

WEST PALM BEACH, FL - - Junior Art Carmody of the University of Louisville was named to the 2006 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Preseason Watch List for the nation's top placekicker.

The Watch List is comprised of the top 30 preliminary candidates for the 15th annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the FedEx Orange Bowl. The top three finalists are honored during the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Banquet and Silent Auction on Tuesday, December 5, 2006, at the Palm Beach Gardens Marriott. The winner is announced on Thursday, December 7, 2006 during the ESPN Home Depot College Football Award Show in Orlando, Florida.

Carmody, a junior from Shreveport, La., has emerged as one of the top kickers in the country. Carmody had his best season in 2005, nailing 14-of-16 field goal attempts, including hitting on his last 13 attempts. He tied a school record last season by hitting four field goals in a win over Pittsburgh. For his career, Carmody has booted 26-of-31 attempts.

Among kickers named to the Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List a Lou Groza Award finalist from last year, Mason Crosby of University of Colorado, Jad Dean of Clemson University, and Alexis Serna of Oregon State University.

Also making the list are the place-kickers from some of the top rated teams this season. They include: Chris Hetland, University of Florida; Brandon Coutu, University of Georgia; Kyle Schlicher, Iowa; Arthur Carmody, University of Louisville; Garrett Rivas, University of Michigan; Jordon Congdon, University of Nebraska; Paul Martinez, University of Oregon; Chris Manfredini, TCU; James Wilhoit, University of Tennessee; Alex Trlica, Texas Tech; Brandon Pace, Virginia Tech.

A brief biography of each player on the Lou Groza Award Watch List can be found at beginning August 16, 2006.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2005 season and 2006 preseason expectations. However, all Division I-A kickers are eligible for consideration for the award.

A panel of over 300 experts vote on the award, including Division I-A head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers and all previous Groza Award finalists.

The 20 semi-finalists for the Lou Groza Award are announced on Tuesday November 7, 2006, followed with the naming of the three finalists two weeks later on Tuesday, November 21, 2006.

The award, now in its 15th year, is named for National Football League (NFL) Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Nicknamed "The Toe," Groza was one of the first people to truly make kicking an art form, and he helped usher in to football the idea that a player could be used exclusively for kicking.

The Lou Groza Award is also sponsored by BankAtlantic, The Breakers, Continental Airlines, ESPN Radio 760, ESPN Regional Television, Florida Atlantic University Athletics, Florida Coca-Cola Bottling, Hartless Foundation, JBS Destination Solutions, Palm Beach Gardens Marriott, Palm Beach Kennel Club, The Palm Beach Post, Parallax Productions, PGA National Golf Club, Rooney's Public House, Team A-fin-ity Sportfishing and WPEC News-12.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, please go to or contact Dusty Ann Williams at the Palm Beach County Sports Institute at (561) 233-3122.

2006 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Preseason Watch List


Jad Dean Sr. Clemson

Mason Crosby Sr. Colorado

Robert Lee Sr. East Carolina

Andrew Wellock Sr. Eastern Michigan

Chris Hetland Sr. Florida

Clint Stitser Jr. Fresno State

Brandon Coutu Jr. Georgia

Jason Reda Jr. Illinois

Kyle Schlicher Sr. Iowa

Danny Horwedel Jr. La. Tech

Arthur Carmody Jr. Louisville

Garrett Rivas Sr. Michigan

Jordon Congdon So. Nebraska

Kenny Byrd Sr. New Mexico

John Deraney Sr. North Carolina State

Bruce Redden Sr. Oklahoma State

Paul Martinez Sr. Oregon

Alexis Serna Jr. Oregon State

Jeremy Ito Jr. Rutgers

Darren McCaleb Sr. Southern Mississippi

Chris Manfredini Jr. TCU

James Wilhoit Sr. Tennessee

Alex Trlica Jr. Texas Tech

Greg Whibbs Jr. Troy

Justin Medlock Sr. UCLA

Sergio Aguayo Jr. UNLV

Reagan Schneider Sr. UTEP

Brandon Pace Sr. Virginia Tech

Sam Swank So. Wake Forest

Taylor Mehlhaff Jr. Wisconsin



Official Online Store