Bridgewater Selected to Davey O'Brien Watch List - | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Bridgewater Selected to Davey O'Brien Watch List

Teddy Bridgewater

Teddy Bridgewater

July 17, 2013

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - University of Louisville junior quarterback Teddy Bridgewater (Miami, Fla.) is one of five 2012 semifinalists listed on the Davey O'Brien Watch List, the group announced on Wednesday.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.

Bridgewater joins the 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner, Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), and 2012 finalist Braxton Miller (Ohio State), along with semifinalists Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), AJ McCarron (Alabama), and Aaron Murray (Georgia).

Last season's BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year, Bridgewater guided the Cardinals to an 11-2 record, a BIG EAST title and a win over fourth-ranked Florida in the Sugar Bowl in which he was named the game's Most Valuable Player.

The Miami, Fla., native directed a Louisville offense that was vastly improved last season, averaging 31.2 points per game and 418.8 yards of total offense per game. Starting 11 games, Bridgewater threw for 3,718 yards per game and 27 touchdowns to earn first team All-BIG EAST accolades.

Known for his accuracy, Bridgewater completed 68.5 percent of his throws and tossed a career-low eight interceptions. He recorded a new career high by passing for 424 yards in a loss to Syracuse and also passed for 416 yards in a win over Cincinnati in overtime.

He is steadily approaching many of Louisville's all-time records in only one full year as a starter. The 6-foot-3 signal caller sits first in completion percentage (66.5), third in passing efficiency (148.87), fifth in touchdowns (41), and sixth in passing yards (5,847).

Bridgewater and the Cardinals open the season on Sept. 1 in a 3:30 p.m. nationally televised kickoff versus Ohio on ESPN.



Official Online Store