Cardinals Place 22 on BIG EAST Academic Team

Charlie Strong

Charlie Strong

Feb. 10, 2012

Providence, R.I. - Twenty-two student-athletes from the Louisville football team were named to the 2012 BIG EAST All-Academic Football Team, the conference office announced Friday.

Senior placekicker Chris Philpott (Manasquan, N.Y.) finished his Louisville career as a three-time BIG EAST All-Academic team member.

In addition, senior offensive lineman John Clark, junior fullback Bo Eggers, sophomore wide receiver Stephen Goodwin, junior tight end Nate Nord, junior quarterback Will Stein and junior wide receiver DeMarcus Topp were recognized on the conference's all-academic football team for the second time in their respective careers.

Rounding out Louisville contingent of honorees as first-time all-academic football team members were freshmen quarterbacks Jerry Arlinghaus, Teddy Bridgewater and Luke Brohm, senior wide receiver Lincoln Carr, red-shirt freshman long snapper Grant Donovan, junior fullback Nick Heuser, senior offensive tackle Ryan Kessling, freshman offensive tackle Ryan Mack, freshman safety Calvin Pryor, red-shirt freshman offensive guard Jake Smith, freshman offensive lineman Josh Stearns, sophomore offensive lineman Chris Walker, freshman placekicker John Wallace, sophomore linebacker Alex Witcpalek and junior linebacker Christopher Zelli.



To be nominated, a player must have a cumulative grade-point index of at least 3.0 and completed a minimum of two semesters of academic work.

The 2012 squad begins spring practice on March 21 and concludes, with the annual spring game on April 14 at 1 p.m.

    American Athletic Conference NCAA University of Louisville
    Rotating Dimage