Pitino Reviews 2013-14 Men's Basketball Season


March 31, 2014

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - University of Louisville men's basketball head coach Rick Pitino met with the media on Monday and recapped the Cardinals' 2013-14 season that culminated with the program's eighth-consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance.

Louisville, which finished the season at 31-6, captured a share of the American Athletic Conference regular-season title, won the league's tournament title, and advanced to the program's 20th NCAA Sweet 16. In conference play, Louisville went 15-3.

Pitino Audio | 2013-14 Statistics | Smith a Consensus All-American | UofL Wins AAC Tournament Title

In the program's 100th season of basketball, its lone season in the AAC, Louisville had three players earn all-conference honors - Russ Smith, Montrezl Harrell, and Terry Rozier - with Harrell earning AAC Most Improved Player accolades.

Following Pitino's press conference, Smith earned Associated Press All-America first team honors to become the school's sixth consensus All-American. The Brooklyn, N.Y., native also secured All-America honors from The Sporting News, U.S. Basketball Writers Association, Wooden Award, National Association of Basketball Coaches, Sports Illustrated, NBC Sports, and The Bleacher Report.

The 6-foot guard finished his senior campaign averaging 18.2 points, 4.6 assists, and 2.0 steals this season. His 172 assists in 2013-14 are the seventh most in a single season in school history. During the 2013-14 season, he became the only player in school history with at least 1,800 career points, 350 assists, and 250 steals. In the Cardinals' NCAA Tournament second-round game, Smith passed former teammate Peyton Siva as the school's all-time career steals leader with 256 thefts.

The 2013-14 campaign featured the school's winningest senior class of Smith, Tim Henderson, Luke Hancock, and Stephan Van Treese, as the group compiled a record of 121-30 (.801). The contingent led UofL to two BIG EAST Tournament titles, the American Athletic Conference Tournament crown, four-consecutive NCAA Tournaments, two NCAA Final Fours, and a school-record 35 wins en route to the 2013 NCAA Championship.

Roster (numerically): Terry Rozier (0), Anton Gill (1), Russ Smith (2), Chris Jones (3), Dillon Avare (4), Kevin Ware (5), Luke Hancock (11), Mangok Mathiang (12), Tim Henderson (15), Wayne Blackshear (20), Chane Behanan (21), Akoy Agau (22), David Levitch (23), Montrezl Harrell (24), Stephan Van Treese (44)

Coaches/Staff: Rick Pitino (head coach), Kevin Keatts (associate head), Mike Balado (assistant), Wyking Jones (assistant), Doug Davenport (director of video operations), William Minardi (asst. video coordinator), Andre McGee (director of operations), Fred Hina (head trainer), Ray Ganong (strength/conditioning), Vincent Tatum (equipment) Jordan Sucher (executive assistant to Coach Pitino), Anthony Wright (academic services), Tim Gray (program assistant), Wayne Turner (program assistant), Stephanie Diebold-Davis (receptionist)



Official Online Store