Men's Basketball's Smith Named Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalist - | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Men's Basketball's Smith Named Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalist

Russ Smith ranks third in the BIG EAST, 29th nationally, in steals per game.

Russ Smith ranks third in the BIG EAST, 29th nationally, in steals per game.

March 4, 2013

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - University of Louisville men’s basketball guard Russ Smith has been touted as one of the top players in the country throughout the season.

On Monday, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association named Smith one of 14 finalists for the 2013 Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy, presented to the nation’s top Division I men’s player.

The Brooklyn, N.Y., native is among the BIG EAST leaders scoring (37th nationally; No. 2 in the BIG EAST), free throw percentage (No. 5 in the BIG EAST), and steals per game (29th nationally; third in the BIG EAST). In last week’s win at DePaul, Smith scored 17 points, making him Louisville’s 65th men’s basketball player to reach 1,000 career points.

The junior, who has led the Cardinals in scoring in 18 games this year, is a top-30 candidate for the 2013 Naismith Men's College Player of the Year Award. Currently, Smith has 62 steals through 29 games and he needs just five more to crack the top-10 list for most steals in a season. Should he achieve the feat, he would become just the third player in school history to appear on the list twice (Tick Rogers, 1994-95, 1995-96; Alvin Sims, 1995-96, 1996-97).

During the 2012-13 season, Smith has accumulated multiple honors. In January, he was named to the Wooden Award Midseason Top 25. Following the win over Kentucky earlier this year, Smith was named Bluegrass Sports Commission MVP of the game and BIG EAST Player of the Week after a 21-point performance. The junior opened the year by earning a spot on the Battle 4 Atlantis all-tournament team.

The recipient of the award will be announced on April 5 in Atlanta at a 9:15 a.m. ET press conference and then formally presented their award at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

Pos. No. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F 15 Anthony Bennett, UNLV 6-8 240 Fr. Brampton, Ont.
G 3 Trey Burke, Michigan 6-0 190 So. Columbus, Ohio
G 1 Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse 6-6 185 So. Hamilton, Mass.
F 3 Doug McDermott, Creighton 6-8 225 Jr. Ames, Iowa
G 23 Ben McLemore, Kansas 6-5 195 Fr. St. Louis, Mo.
G 4 Victor Oladipo, Indiana 6-5 214 Jr. Upper Marlboro, Md.
F 13 Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga 7-0 238 Jr. Kamloops, B.C.
F 5 Mason Plumlee, Duke 6-10 235 Sr. Warsaw, Ind.
F 22 Otto Porter, Georgetown 6-8 205 So. Sikeston, Mo.
G 33 Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State 6-4 225 Fr. Flower Mound, Texas
G 2 Russ Smith, Louisville 6-0 165 Jr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
F 1 Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State 6-7 215 Jr. Fort Wayne, Ind.
C 5 Jeff Withey, Kansas 7-0 235 Sr. San Diego, Calif.
F 40 Cody Zeller, Indiana 7-0 240 So. Washington, Ind.



Official Online Store