Cross Country ACC Preseason Coaches' Poll Released - | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Cross Country ACC Preseason Coaches' Poll Released

Benadate Cheruiyot

Benadate Cheruiyot
Aug. 28, 2014

Louisville, Ky. - The Syracuse men and Florida State women's cross country teams were selected to win the Atlantic Coast Conference championship, as voted on by the ACC's head coaches. The University of Louisville men's team tied for eighth place in the poll with Duke, while the women's team was voted 11th.

The Syracuse men's team was a unanimous selection to win the conference after winning the 2013 title. The Florida State women's team was also selected to repeat as ACC champions and received all but two first place votes.

The Louisville men's squad finished up the 2013 season with a first-place finish at the American Athletic Conference championship. The 2014 team features nine returnees, including junior Ernest Kibet, who secured all-conference and all-region honors while also qualifying for nationals, and junior Edwin Kibichiy, who was an outdoor track standout for the Cardinals during the 2014 spring season.

The women's squad finished in second place at the 2013 American Athletic Conference championship, its best finish since the 1996 Conference USA title. The team returns 12 runners, including sophomore Benadate Cheruiyot, who finished in fifth place at the 2013 AAC Championships behind the third-fastest time in school history. Sophomores Agnes Chepchumba and Adair Gennocro and senior Michelle Molodynia also helped the Cardinals to a second-place finish and were named to the all-conference team along with Cheruiyot.

2014 ACC Cross Country Predicted Order of Finish:




1. Syracuse

2. Virginia

3. North Carolina

4. Florida State

5. NC State

6. Virginia Tech

7. Notre Dame

t-8. Duke

t-8. Louisville

10. Wake Forest

11. Georgia Tech

12. Clemson

13. Pittsburgh

14. Boston College

15. Miami


1. Florida State

2. Virginia

3. Syracuse

4. Duke

5. North Carolina

6. Notre Dame

7. NC State

8. Virginia Tech

9. Boston College

10. Wake Forest

11. Louisville

12. Clemson

13. Georgia Tech

14. Pittsburgh

15. Miami

Official Online Store