Swimming and Diving Complete Day 2 at USA Short Course Nationals

The Cardinals continue competition at McCorkle on Saturday.

The Cardinals continue competition at McCorkle on Saturday.

Dec. 3, 2010

The Cardinals continue to turn in strong performances at the USA Short Course Nationals in the second day of competition in McCorkle Aquatic Center on the campus of Ohio State University.

"It was a very good day for our team in many ways. As a group we competed much better today, achieving many second swims," said U of L Arthur Albiero. "Both the men's and women's 200-medley relays and the 800-free relays showed great potential to be invited to the NCAAs."

The women's 200-medley relay finished fourth in the A-final when Krissie Brandenburg (25.81), Lindsay Rogers (27.70), Raine Thompson (24.47) and Aileen Cole (22.28) combined to post a time of 1:40.26. The men's 200-medley relay was eighth with the foursome of Brendon Andrews (22.31), Carlos Almeida (24.62), Pedro Oliveira (21.96) and Matt Schyltter (19.99) hitting the wall in 1:28.88.

In the 800-free relay, Lindsey LaPorte (1:47.55), Breann McDowell (1:50.12), Krissie Brandenburg (1:51.77 and Sarah Andrews (1:51.07) were seventh. For the men in the same event, Brendon Andrews (1:37.91), Pedro Oliveira (1:38.03), Alex Burtch (1:37.36) and Carlos Almeida (1:38.50) combined for a time of 6:31.82.



In the 100-breast, the Cardinals populated the lanes on both the men's and women's side. Therese Bergstrom set a school record of 1:00.20 in the prelims and finished 6th in the A-final. Lindsay Rogers was fourth in the B-final with a time of 1:01.42. For the men, Carlos Almeida was eighth in the A-final with a time of 53.36. In the B-final, Kameron Chastain was fifth, going 54.58. In the C-final, Michael Haefner was fourth (54.60) and Kenneth Crapse was ninth (55.38).

In the 100-back, Krissie Brandenburg was second in the B-final with a time of 54.07. Another highlight was Fanny Lilliestrom's swim in the 400-IM, where she finished ninth in the B-final with a time of 4:22.03. In the200-free, Brendon Andrews won the C-final, posting a time of 1:36.61. Raine Thompson was fourth in the C-final, touching in 54.83.

    Atlantic Coast Conference NCAA University of Louisville
    Rotating Dimage