Women's Swimming Finishes Second at SMU Classic - GoCards.com | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Women's Swimming Finishes Second at SMU Classic

The Cardinals trailed only national power Florida at the end of the night.

The Cardinals trailed only national power Florida at the end of the night.

Oct. 24, 2009


The University of Louisville women's swim team took eight swimmers and a diver to Dallas against top competition and came home with a runner-up trophy at the 16th annual SMU Classic Friday and Saturday night in a star-studded field that includes Florida, Florida State, Louisville, Rice and Wisconsin.

Trailing only Florida (353), Louisville posted a score of 309, beating Wisconsin (280), SMU (271) Florida State (257) and Rice (186) for runnerup honors. The unusual format pits eight swimmers and one diver from each team against a schedule of events that mirrors the NCAA Championship.

"We just never went away and we were tough as nails, we did it. It was awesome and they had a blast. They represented U of L with great class and competitive spirit." It is a great test to measure ourselves against the best in the nation," said U of L coach Arthur Albiero.

The Cardinals started the evening with a win in the 400-freestyle relay when Whitney Campbell, Sarah Andrews, Leslie VanWinkle and Liz Halet combined to power past the field in 3:24.88.

Leslie VanWinkle finished second in the 500-free with a time of 4:58.73 and then teammate Eszter Povaszy added points with a third place finish in the 200-back.

Therese Bergstrom was second in the 200-breaststroke with a time of 2:16.34 which is an NCAA B-cut time. Freshman Heather Holtom won the consols with a time of 2:19.96.

Hannah Gadd, who won the 1-meter board the night before, finished fifth in the 3-meter with 264.30 points.



Whitney Campbell was second in the 100-free with a time of 51.19 and then Liz Halet won the consols in 51.41 for additional points.

In the 200-fly, Raine Thompson was fifth in the 200-fly, going 2:07.06.

Leslie VanWinkle added to her point total with a second in the 200-IM with a time of 2:04.13.

In the final relay, Whitney Campbell, Eszter Povaszy, Therese Bergstrom and Liz Halet in 1:34.51.

Official Online Store