Women's Swimming Posts First-Ever Win Over Tennessee - GoCards.com | Official Website of University of Louisville Athletics
Women's Swimming Posts First-Ever Win Over Tennessee

Whitney Campbell had wins in the 50- and 100-free.

Whitney Campbell had wins in the 50- and 100-free.

Oct. 15, 2009

Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

University of Louisville Senior Whitney Campbell posted two wins and senior Liz Halet anchored the final deciding relay to beat visiting Tennessee 152-148 in women's swimming Thursday afternoon at the Ralph Wright Natatorium.

In all, the Cardinals recorded wins in six events with Campbell winning the 50- and 100-free, Leslie VanWinkle picking up a win in the 200-free, Therese Bergstrom taking the 200-breast and Hannah Gadd topping the board in the 3-M springboard. It was the first win over Tennessee in program history.

"I could not be prouder of how we fought for that win," said U of L head coach Arthur Albiero. "It is another step in our evolution as a program. All credit goes to the incredible leadership we got from our seniors." In the 200-medley relay, the Lady Vols won in 1:43.09, U of L's Eszter Povaszy, Therese Bergstrom, Raine Thompson and Whitney Campbell were second, posting a time of 14313. U of L's team of Kara Savegnago, Heather Holtom, Grite Apanaviciute and Liz Halet were third scoring for the Cards with a time of 1:44.85.

In the grueling 1000-free, Aleksa Akerfelds took top honors with a time of 10:07.08. Amanda Henleben, U of L's record holder, finished second with a time of 10:15.19 and Stephanie Juncker was fourth, going 10:29.7.

In the 200-free, U of L made it a one-two sweep with a win by Leslie VanWinkle (1:50.52), who is back from her redshirt year and Sarah Andrews drove to the wall for second (1:51.64).

In the 100-back, Eszter Povaszy was the top finisher for the Cardinals, finishing second with a time of 55.97. She was behind UT's Jennifer Connolly, NCAA B-cut swim of 54.62. Raine Thompson was fourth with a time of 56.90.

In the 100-breast, Heather Holtom was U of L's top finisher, touching second in 10346 behind UT's Jamie Saffer. U of L's Therese Bergstrom was third in 10355

In the 200-fly, newcomer Jackie Sherrard made her mark in her collegiate debute with a win in 20455.

Whitney Campbell set a new pool record with her win in the 50-free in 23:21. Nicole Landisch was third, going 23.47. Newcomer Grite Apanaviciute was fifth, scoring for the Cardinals with a 24.60.

After the break, Whitney Campbell hit the wall first in the 100 free with a 50:95, Liz Halet was third in 51.21.

In the 200-back, Ezster Povaszy was the top U of L finisher, finishing fourth in 2:01.42.

In the 200-breast, the Cards swept the top two spots with Therese Bergstrom touching first in 2:16.05 and freshman Heather Holtom surging to second in 2:17.14.

In the 1-M Diving, UT's Gabrielle Trudeau was first with a score of 268.72. U of L's Hannah Gadd was second at 265.65 and teammate Kayla Purkiser was right behind her at 264.15. Lindsey Stephens was fourth with a score of 231.89.

In the 500-free, Amanda Henleben was U of L's top finisher, touching second in 5:03.00 Jackie Sherrard held on for fifth at 5:07.72.

In the 100-fly, U of L's Nicole Landisch (56.44) held off teammate Raine Thompson (56.44) for second and third respectively.

Hannah Gadd won comfortably with a score of 302.85 with Kayla Purkiser finishing third with 265.05. Lindsey Stephens was able to sneak in for points with a 233.93 in 3-M.

The closely meet came down to the final 400-freestyle relay with Liz Halet anchoring a pool record 3:23.97 and NCAA B-cut for the win. Halet had the fastest split in the entire field with a 50.02. Whitney Campbell led off, followed by Anna Dishuck with Sarah Andrews setting up Halet. The B-relay team of Eszter Povaszy, Lacey Bobo, Aileen Cole and Leslie VanWinkle hung on for third to secure the victory.

"That is what makes college swimming great," said Albiero. "Everybody contributes. Our divers did their part and the relays dug deep for a win. We have great respect for Tennessee and now we must build on this win."



Official Online Store