Ten Louisville Track and Field Athletes Earn Academic Honors

Chinwe Okoro earned the honor for the fourth-straight year.

Chinwe Okoro earned the honor for the fourth-straight year.

Aug. 4, 2011

LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Ten University of Louisville track and field athletes have received academic recognition, earning a spot on the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Track and Field Team, the New Orleans-based organization announced.

On the women's side, seven athletes earned the distinction: Rachel Gehret, Monica Hernandez, Gabrielle Jackson, Chinwe Okoro, Andrea Sabbatine, Megan Schubert and Jenna Wargo. On the men's side, Weston Banks, Matt Bruce and Michael Eaton were named to the academic team.

Gehret, a Capital One Academic All-District women's track and field second team selection and recipient of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship award, and Okoro each placed on the USTFCCCA all-academic team for the fourth-straight year.

Eaton, also a NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient, is a three-time all-academic honoree, while Banks and Bruce earned the award for the second-straight year.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either of the following athletic standards: for the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by; for the outdoor season, a student©\athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).



For all of the latest information on Louisville cross country and track and field, log on to, or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow the team's Twitter account at
Official Online Store